National Scenic Areas In Taiwan


The Maolin Scenic Area covers the townships of Maolin and Liouguei in Kaohsiung City, as well as parts of the administrative areas of Sandimen Township in Pingdueng County.

The Maolin Scenic Area has many scenic spots, such as the Baolai Hot Spring, Forever Young Hot Spring, Duona Hot Spring, Eighteen Monks Mountain, Meiyagu Fall, Dragon Head Mountain, and Maolin Valley. Scenic resources Near the Eighteen Monks Mountain Reservation Area and the Meiya Valley, tourists can often see Formosan Macaque, squirrels, Varicorhinus barbatulus, and Taiwan blue magpies. All of them are precious resources in the Maolin Scenic Area. The state-owned forest in this area is another natural feature.The artistic side of the Maolin Scenic Area includes tunnels, temples, suspension bridges and aborigine cultures. Maolin, Wanshan, and Duona in Maolin Townships are reserved for aborigines. It is the home of the Lukai Tribe. The Lukai Tribe is famous for its slate houses. At present about 30 slate houses are being preserved in the Duona village of the Maolin Township, making it the largest collection of preserved slate houses in Taiwan. The Liouguei Tunnel, consisting of six parts, is the only highway tunnel in southern Taiwan. Because of its views, the Liouguei Tunnel has become a famous scenic spot. The Maolin Scenic Area has beautiful scenery and a lot of well-known Buddhist temples, such as the Miaotong and Miaocueng temples. The Maolin Scenic Area has many suspension bridges, the Duona Suspension Bridge being famous for its length.


Address: No. 120, Saijia Lane, Saijia Village, Sandimen Township, Pingtung County
Tel: 886-8-7992221 / Toll-free Information Hotline: 0800-60076